March 28 -30. The hottest young jazz talent in the country hits the stage as they contend for trophies and glory.

41st National

Youth Jazz


Curly Bracket

Showcasing the Jazz Stars of Tomorrow

We are streaming live!

Jump over to our YouTube Page to stream the Youth Comps live.

For 41 years the National Youth Jazz Competition have showcased the very best of emerging jazz players from across New Zealand. Over three days Combos and Big Bands from New Zealand Secondary Schools strut their stuff for trophies and awards. Many a career has been launched from these competitions - past winners include Nathan Haines, Hollie Smith and Sacha Vee.

This year we have two international judges on our judging panel: American bassist Dewayne Pate and saxophonist Dave Wilson. Head judge is Dr Rodger Fox.

Stage performances will be streamed live on YouTube so you can follow the competition where ever you are - follow us on Facebook and Instagram.

Proudly sponsored by
When & Where
COMBOS: Wednesday 28 March 1.00pm- 5.00pm and Thursday 29 March 8.30am-5.45pm
BIG BANDS: Wednesday 28 March 1.00pm- 5.00pm and Friday 30 March 8.30am-4.30pm
PRIZEGIVING: Friday 30 March 5.00pm-5.45pm
Baycourt Community & Arts Centre, Addison Theatre
General Admission - Full Day Pass $19 *
General Admission - Half Day Pass $12 *
Children 12 and under FREE
Book At

Physical locations
0800 842 538
* Service fees apply


Share this Event

41st National Youth Jazz Competition Award Winners:

Best of Festival Trophy - Most outstanding jazz band – Pukekohe High School

New Orleans Trophy – Most Outstanding Big Band – St Andrews College

Most outstanding young musician – George Rawiri Trophy: Shennazar Sta Lucia

Big Band Gold Award – Trident High School, Tauranga Boys’ College, St Andrews College, Auckland Grammar School, Pukekohe High School

Big Band Silver Award – Rongotai College, Otumoetai College, Orewa College, Whangaparaoa College, Wellington College and Wellington Girl’s College, Avondale College, Long Bay College, St Paul’s Collegiate, St Peter’s College

Best Jazz Combo – Norman Family Trophy – Tauranga Girls’ College and Katikati College/Thomas the Tank Engine

Combo Gold Award – Wellington High School/Island Birdie, Tauranga Boys’ College/Kai Time, Tauranga Girls’ College and Katikati College/Thomas the Tank Engine, Kerikeri High School Combo, Auckland Grammar School Combo, Tauranga Boys’ College/Mason Jar.

Combo Silver Award – Whangaparaoa College/Andyson, Wellington High School/In Limbo, Pukekohe High school/PHS Quintet, Wellington College/WC Combo, Avondale College/Avcol’s Blue Note Combo, Avondale College Jazz Combo, Sacred Heart College/Sacred Cyclones, Avondale College/52 Street Combo, Paraparaumu College/PC Jazz Band, St Andrews College/StAC Jazz Combo

SOUNZ Trophy - Best Performance of a New Zealand Composition: Rongotai College

Award for Innovation – Derek Jacombs Trophy: Kerikeri High School

Best Original Composition – Ken Mitchell Trophy: Ben Lerner/Auckland Grammar ‘Kajumba’

Best Saxophonist – Yanagisawa Trophy: Ben Lerner /Auckland Grammar

Most outstanding Bassist – P & S Penman Trophy: Louie Campbell/Katikati College

Most outstanding Drummer – Hill/Wilcock Trophy: Harper Wilson /Wellington High School

Most outstanding Guitarist – Mayers Music Centre Trophy: Finlay Burke/Tauranga Boys’ College

Most outstanding keyboard player – Bay City Music Trophy: Gena Gray/Tauranga Girls College/Katikati College

Most outstanding pianist – Bill Hoffmeister Trophy: Troy Weenink/Tauranga Boys’ College

Most outstanding trombonist – Rodger Fox Trophy: Serge Beaton/St Andrews College

Most outstanding trumpet or flugel – Edwina Thorne Trophy: Angus Rainey/St Andrews College

Most outstanding Big Band drummer – Lauren Ellis Trophy: Joeal Mita/Trident High School

Most outstanding vocalist – Dave Feehan Trophy: Shennazar Sta Lucia

Most outstanding clarinettist – Tom Bayliss Trophy: Gillian Toala/Kerikeri High School

Most outstanding flautist – Errol Christiansen Trophy: Keeson Treacher-Perkins/Wellington High School

Best First Year Performance Band – Dennis Huggard Trophy: St Peter’s College